Microwave assisted ozone degradation of D9 THC?

I’m a micro scale hobbyist, and recently acquired a CEM Discover (microwave synthesis reactor). I was wondering your thoughts on small batch forced degradation to CBN using microwave processing and a glass 10um gas dispersion tube with 10g/hr ozone feed. This unit is able to maintain a temp set point via internal IR sensor, and I have adjustable wattage up to 300w with a reaction vessel of 10ml. Batch size would be about 5g as I just like to experiment for personal use.

I’m thinking I could just plop in some cryo qwet shatter, set it to 150c/150w, and let er’ oxidize. For personal safety, ozone would be directly vented outside from a vac barb on the glass reaction vessel. I also have an air exchange rate of about 25-30 cycles/hr, and air quality monitoring via a eagle gas detector just to be sure.

Now for microwave absorption efficiency I was hoping I could get away with straight concentrate added to the vessel but I have yet to do any testing as I’ve been quite busy. I did read somewhere ethanol can aid the absorption of microwave radiation and provide localized superheating, however without a pressurized vessel it may be of limited use for my intended purposes.

Finally to analyze the results DCVC would be utilized, and fractions analyzed with a UV-vis spec
that’s capable of 1 pt/0.3 nm scan speed and 2nm slit width for decent accuracy. I’m using DOI 10.1080/10826070500187558, pg.2378 as a ref for UV spectral data points on a 200nm-400nm scan.
I also have some comparative spectral data from 99.5% CBD isolate and the starting concentrate. I have a solid base on UV spectrometer operation and I’m getting better at deciphering fractions, however I still haven’t picked up a set of cannabinoid reference standards yet(kinda pricey lol).

Would love some input on my described process as i’m self taught and I’m just working with random ideas that pop into my head.

Thanks in Advance,

The Ethanol Man

8 Likes