Isomerization of D9-THC to D8-THC

Hello everyone. First off, I’d like to thank the community for sharing all the knowledge and making this industry a better place.

Anyhow, I’m quite new to the industry and have been running into problems with my distillate. The final product that comes out looks amazing, golden in colour and clear throughout. Viscosity could not be better, its so thick that if the 5ml vial its stored in is turned upside down, it would take hours to go down. However, when i got it tested, although the total THC (D9+D8) is over 96% and total cannabinoids percentage is 99.4%, the product is inferior because there is a near 20% D8-THC in it and i have no idea what is causing this isomerization from D9-THC to D8-THC.

The process i use is cold ethanol extraction. General flow is usually soak biomass, carbon scrub, filter, filter again, rotovap, then distill. Biomass is low quality trim and both biomass and ethanol taken to -80C before soaking.

I use to winterize at -80C but then realized that the waxes and lipids I’m pulling off are very little so i just skipped it altogether.

I use a short path for dilstillation. Boiling flask temperature hardly ever reaches 200C and main body is mostly good but sometimes appear darker than I would like it to be. Vacuum pressure is usually always under 150microns.

Couple of reasons i think why my THC is isomerizing is due to heat involved, possible leak in vacuum (not enough to affect ultimate vacuum levels but enough to introduce oxygen in my system), or possibly acids in my crude that is catalyzing the isomerization.

Any insight into this would greatly be appreciated, thanks so much.

Why do you consider D8 to be inferior?

Have you measured the ph of your oil?

4 Likes

We just sent in our first disty test and had similar probs i think. Someone else on the crew made it so not sure on the process but here’s the results.

I feel like these are not the results we are lookin for.

3 Likes