Is this ok for vacuum pump oil?

Hey, Just wondering if this is acceptable vacuum pump oil. Found it at the local hardware store. It’s 1/2 the price of other stuff I’ve found online. I have a rotary vane style pump

I have been told to use at least r10. Elliot sold me I19 with my e30.

I hear a lot of people use r20

3 Likes

There is certainly a difference between ultra 19 and ultra 20 pump oil. I’ve been running ultra 19 for like 5 years In my pumps cause I’m lazy and typically abuse the shit out of my pumps. Even my cheapie $50 eBay vacuum pumps get ultra 19.

When I got into this short path stuff. Breaking dabs kept saying how ultra grade 20 pump oil doesn’t smoke as much and allows you to get to a lower vacuum depth. I found this to be true with my own pumps to after I switched. It only made a 4-5 micron difference. But that’s like half of the vacuum for me. It was the difference between 10 micron and 6 micron. Which is like 40% and in vacuum depth I think it’s exponential. So it’s even greater.

8 Likes

ISO 68 is SAE 20, is that the same thing as r20?

nope, the vapor pressure of your pump oil is the determining factor in hiw low your pump can go.
Heres a good discussion here.
Vacuum pump oil info needed!!

4 Likes

I use robinair https://www.amazon.com/Robinair-13204-Premium-High-Vacuum/dp/B00C2GWPYE/ref=asc_df_B00C2GWPYE/?tag=hyprod-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid=312065536966&hvpos=1o1&hvnetw=g&hvrand=10221603840800705527&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=m&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9002007&hvtargid=pla-568552399809&psc=1

2 Likes

Yeah that’s been my go to.
Or else

https://www.amazon.ca/JB-Industries-DVO-24-Bottle-Vacuum/dp/B001UH3L8K/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1544134590&sr=8-1&keywords=black+gold+oil

I don’t know how to get any info on whether or not these are good oils though. They don’t list the vaccum tolerances on it.

edit looks like the black gold is gonly good down to 50 microns. So that stuff’s no good.

Does anyone have any experience with this?