Hire Vets Medallion Program

Anyone have any success getting their business registered into the Department of Labor Hire Vets Medallion Program? Or is this just wishful thinking due to legislation at this point? My thought is that employers being obligated to follow federal labor laws would open the industry up for eligibility in this type of Department of Labor program. Before spending hours reading through legislation I figured I would consult this wealth of knowledge. Thank you for your time in advance.

3 Likes

Following this with interest, I’m a vet.

3 Likes

Same here, which led to my curiosity once I learned of the program.

3 Likes

The USDA programs to encourage vets to farm apply to hemp farming btw, confirmed with the local office.

3 Likes

Yo same same boys. Cheers, following.

3 Likes

I know my dude @Shadownaught is in on this and if memory serves correct, so is senior @Future as well and my favorite of all, RIP, @Beaker did his time as well.

5 Likes

Veteran here. Interesting post. They have a lot of resources over at the USDA website for agriculture, but it’s mostly grants/microloans as far as I can tell.

3 Likes

Noted, Thank you

1 Like

There’s definitely a good chunk of capital available for starting up. I’m a big fan of it because it means you don’t have to deal with actual investors and their money based opinions.

2 Likes

I agree, but the loans/grants seem to mostly geared towards, well…gear/tools for existing farm operations. Such as new tractors, building materials. As far as land loans, I don’t really see much.

Unfortunately not. The easiest bet would be to lease farm land. Here in the Midwest it’s a very common practice for retired farmers to lease their fields out.

Edit: You can also buy non farmland and get grants/loans to convert it.

1 Like