Heating delivery tank??

Hey guys so I’m pretty new to making BHO I’m running a 4” x 24” jacketed column 10” base with 6” spatter platter active recovery system… I was just curious on if it’s a bad move to place my delivery tank in a warm water bath when it starts to get more empty to help assist the butane toward my column…
Thanks for reading!

2 Likes

Yes and no. Yes it will work but warm butane picks up more fats and undesirables.

As long as I’m properly managing the ice in my dewax column it shouldn’t be much of an issue though, right?

Just make your collection tank cold as possible and wait for there to be no more flow…

I just get the solvent tank up to no more than 20c if I need.
But I’m also a noob. I’ve heard of using another rank to push via a hot loop?? Maybe one of the regs can help me on my explanation.

Using a secondary auxiliary tank heated up to provide vapor pressure to your chilled tank at a lower pressure to push. Its not cheap, but works well.

1 Like

What temp are we talking for the secondary tank?

Depends on what solvent you’re using and what pressure you’re aiming for

4 Likes

Why not use a coil in a dry ice slurry between your tank and material column then you can keep your tank at room temp or heat if you want more pressure. The solvent will have pressure going into your material column and be chilled at the same time so you don’t pick up undesirables (chlorophyll, water, waxes ect…)

1 Like

Wont that make it harder to flow thru material to collection??

Not at all because you will have the back pressure from the solvent tank. I extract at around 50-70 psi (70/30 butane/propane) with this method with zero flow issues.

2 Likes

Having your main tank chilled lowers the pressure, making it easier to pump back into it.

Use a coil between your pump and solvent tank on dryice slurry to recover. Hell, I use regular ice with a coil for recovery and can get 3/4 lb per minute recovery with a CMEP-OL which is fast enough for me.