Distillation before extraction?

Hey everyone, sorry for the newbie questions but I’m trying to learn. I have a Mk3 terpenator with a 450g dewaxing column and a 20lb n-butane tank and a 30# recovery tank. As I said, I’m a complete newbie, so my understanding of the process previously was that you would have the n-butane tank hooked up, it would run through the material, then you would recover it into the recovery tank. However, after reading and watching videos (particularly from the Terpp Extractors YouTube page), it seems like I should be doing that process (not exactly the same as the extraction process?) without any material first, which from my understanding is distilling the 99.5% n-butane into a more pure form, into the recovery tank? And then using that recovery tank to do an extraction, without the original n-butane tank hooked up?

Again, sorry if these are stupid questions, I’m just trying to learn and bought this system because I wanted to do it the right way. I have a great setup to do it at my warehouse, I have proper ventilation with explosion proof exhaust fans, etc. I’m just kind of confused at this step of the process. I appreciate any help.

Sorry if I posted this in the wrong area. It seems like I might have.

Hmm ok yes it is recomended to distill new solvent on it s own
And passing itt treu a brand new terpenator makes sense to clean irr from any grease left from asssembly or producrion of parts
Once solvent is in recoverytank that can be used as solvent tank
As long as it has a dip tube

3 Likes

My recovery tank does not seem to have a dip tube. Is it still usable or am I going to have to get another recovery tank that has one? It’s also my understanding that I should only be filling it up half the way (15lbs in a 30lb tank), which is what I assume the dip tube is for? Pic of my tank(s) attached

Upload pic again please
Can t see them