Decarb in Roto

Hey all :wave:

I feel stupid asking this question but we have a consultant that seems to think I will be able to directly put our decarbed (in a 50L reactor) bho with no winterizing (so no ethanol, just straight tane) into our shortpath.

In the past, my process has always been extract on the loop, purge, winterize, roto and then SPD. Then I liquid chromo any bullshit out and end up with a consistent water clear disti at 95% thc. Am I decarbing in my roto when I band out? Or is it like this consultant says and I decarb in the reactor? I’m also confused because I’ve never specifically added a step to “decarb”. I’ve only done this to the biomass itself when co2 or decarbing the falling film extract.

Why would I need to decarb when the SPD will reach temps needed to properly fraction?

Idk if I’m mistaken or if I’ve been doing it wrong for the past 3 years? Can anyone help me out by explaining what in the world this consultant is talking about?

Much appreciated :raised_hands:

I think there may be a miscommunication.

You can put non decarbed material into a shortpath to decarb it. You do not need to re-decarb it if you did it on the plant material or previously during one of your pre-distillation steps.

You should winterize before you put it into your spd though. I think the consultant was saying you can decarb in a SPD not necessarily to skip winterization to achieve that. The thorough decarb step is more of a wiped film thing because you want a huge load taken off of the wiper in the first terpene/volatile strip

I have never separated fats without a winterization but I’ve seen a few people claim to have done it with multiple careful passes.

1 Like