Crude Lab tested at 65% CBD after distillation Lab Test shows 45%?

Hey everyone, I’m fairly new to the distillation process. I recently bought a 10L system from USA labs, and it seems like I’m running everything properly but for some reason I cant get cbd to produce above 40%. I have been running the short path around 250 microns, and use krytox grease to ensure the short path isn’t having any leaks. In the 1st fraction I hold a temperature around 140 degrees in the distillate head for about 30 minutes. After about 30 minutes I increase the temperature to about 180 degrees Celsius in the distillate head and hold for about 30 minutes in the 2nd fraction. Then I bump up the mantle temperature again to get a temperature reading around 200-210 degrees Celsius in the distillation head to produce the sell-able distillate. When the temp in the distillation head is 200-210 degrees everything is now in the 3rd fraction, (the larger fraction). I make sure the oil is changed every cycle, I have the right amount of vacuum, I even 3rd party tested the crude to make sure I wasn’t getting bad crude. Can someone please tell me what is going on?

ID 1 = 1st fraction held at 140 degree’s Celsius (distillate head temp)
ID 2 & 3 = 2nd fractions held at 180 degree’s Celsius (distillate head temp)
ID 4 & 5 = 3rd fractions held at 200-210 degree’s Celsius (distillate head temp)
ID CRD = is the Crude to double check the cbd contents.

1 Like

So to be clear you’re stating that your distillation head vapor temp is 140c at the first fraction?

If this is correct this is likely your problem…you’re waaaaay too hot. What is the temp of your solution in the boiling flask?

I generally pull cannabinoids between 135c-180c with the vast majority residing between 135c-160c. This is with a vac depth of only 400-600 microns and a boiling flask temperature between 190-205c

1 Like

Yes distillation head temp is at 140c in the 1st fraction.

What temp should it be at for the 1st fraction?