Can someone tell me what this is please??

I’m a rookie so bare with me if this is something stupid I’ve just never come across if before. A buddy asked me to make him some carts with distillate he just got. I’m not sure what’s going on, I’m just starting to learn about a lot of this.

It looks normal but when it gets heated it bubbles up and hardens. I’ve never used CBD distillate for carts so I don’t know how it reacts. I did the same things I normally do to make carts and this normal looking dist turned into what looks like crumble, kind of. More accurate would be animal lard or soap. Did he get CBD dist as a mistake maybe? Is this how it would react to being heated? If that’s not it, any suggestions about what is happening here

would be appreciated. Here’s a before the stir plate and after a couple minutes on the stir plate at about 110F.

Looks like waxes

Easy way to tell if it’s cbd vs thc is how runny it is. Also cbd tends to be more golden and translucent

How trusted is the person he bought it from I’ve heard lately people have been adding all kinds of fucked up cuts to scam buyers

1 Like

Whatever it is it aint good
Send of to the lab fet a reading
Find it hard to believe that that many waxes are there beeing so tranclucent

2 Likes

I think it’s too perfect to be a wax. zoom in it’s really weird. also if it was waxes , wouldn’t they only show up when the disty cooled off?

2 Likes

Pfff desperate times are here
When big bottles get cut you know shit is up
Guess we beter get used to seeing this
At good at figuring it out before buying it

2 Likes

i’m going to throw a wild ass guess. Don’t beat me up if I’m wrong. Would this happen if you mixed corn starch and oleoresins?

That’s almost certainly CBD. Agitation leads to crystallization.

5 Likes

Would it crystallize under heat?

1 Like

Yeah, up to 60C or so, then it would start to turn back into liquid/distillate.

2 Likes

ahhhh ok

Melting point of cbd is 62C

3 Likes