Beaker and Wrench peristaltic pump

Hey I am reaching out looking to see if any other labs have upgraded their cascade purepath distillation setup with the Beaker and Wrench peristaltic pump and feed tank (5l glass). We are trying to have better control of our flow and are considering purchasing this unit but are curious to see if any other labs have had good results.

They recently posted an instagram video showing their pump/feed tank in use with the cascade system seen here : https://www.instagram.com/p/B7Jda6GhGgR/

My main concern is the non jacketed feed tank and the distance between the pump and the main body being unheated resulting in blockages. May be a non issue but I would love to hear some good reviews before purchasing.

Thanks for any info!

2 Likes

Build your own for a 1/4 of the cost

@densome

3 Likes

I’ve been running for a couple months now. All in cost was < $1000 including feed vessel.

I feed at 110C, no special overpriced tubing.

Your system looks like kf25 connectors …

I’d get a couple of these

Use the feed flask unless you want a bigger one. in that case I’d build a stainless one.

Then connect a line through the gl18 adapters.

4 Likes

Feed at 110? Interesting. We have only ever hit 90C when needed on waste stream runs. Is there any downside or other effects on the process when feeding that hot? Slower or faster wiper RPM perhaps?

I think the higher the temp you come in the more rapidly you will evaporate

1 Like

yes used the b&w pump with a cascade purepath —- not a part of that lab anymore but a peristaltic is pretty much a must with a purepath the needle valve or whatever its called at the end is cancer and i remember trying to dial it in but couldnt for the life of me.

also, the 1 liter receiving flask is also cancer

2 Likes

forgot to mention found a glass elbow piece that angles downwards so you can put a different receiving flask but watch out you can break the body if you are not careful and that body aint cheap