Banking post-2018 Farm Bill

The Farm Bill should clear up any questions about hemp’s legality and should allow hemp businesses to bank like any other business. However, small banks can’t be counted on to be up to date on hemp law, so a bit of persuasion might be required. Below is a letter I wrote to my bank. It was successful in getting them to openly allow hemp businesses. The formatting will probably be messed up when I try to post it.

In addition to growing hemp and extracting CBD, I am a practicing attorney in Colorado. I exclusively practice Cannabis law, and I am one of the few cannabis attorneys in the state that specializes in hemp.

Feel free to use this letter as a basis for your own correspondence with financial institutions, but do not just copy and paste it. I am not your attorney, this is not legal advice.

To whom it may concern,

With the passage of the 2018 Farm Bill (FB18), hemp and hemp products with less than .3% delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) are federally legal. Cannabidiol (CBD) oil is one such product. As a result banks may treat hemp and CBD businesses like any other legal businesses. However, to fully understand the current laws concerning hemp and CBD, some background is necessary.