Anyone have a opinion on HFS vacuum ovens.

Hey everyone. Thanks for all the info on this site. I’m looking at vacuum ovens need some opinions on HFS. 1.9 with pump $1700. Seems pretty reasonable due to the availability of pumps at bvv and price of AI or dream oven from cascade. Thanks to everyone in advance

My friend has an HFS oven that I have been borrowing for the past 2 months. I
HATE it!!! The trays are thin and smaller than my other ovens. What I get in 3 trays in my AI 1.9s gets spread over 5 trays in the HFS, and I don’t feel like it heats evenly. The top and bottom trays almost always wax up on me.

These things i listed I can deal with. Not the deal breaker. The dealbreaker issue i have with the HFS is the controls. The vacuum port has a simple on/off knob that is fine, but the vent valve is this weird black wheel with a hole in it and an arrow drawn on it. The arrow faces up its closed, the arrow to the right, uncovered a hole in the stem, and the hole on the knob overlaps it and vents into the oven. I may be wrong, but there is no way to backfill from it. The main problem i have with the vent though, is that the opening for it inside the oven is on the top corner of the interior, which means even when vented softly, your parchment starts flying everywhere on the top shelf. Even when working carefully i have regular accidents involving the top slab flying up into the roof of the oven, or the paper folding over onto itself

2 Likes

Right on thank you. Sounds like you don’t like it much. lol. Also sounds like you have no regrets with the AI 1.9. Thanks again

1 Like

I have 2 1.9 hfs. IDK how old the oven the poster above me is using. But mine share none of those issues. Including the vent hole. Which is in the very bottom under every tray. I can easily and I mean EASILY fit 160g per tray. The new ovens they have on their site for 2k with pump has a backfill. Also has 12 trays. Ai unit was lame when I looked at it but have no experience with it

1 Like