90% Distillate, What remains

Hello,

I'm far from an expert in regards to distillation but I'm learning everyday. This may be a silly question but, I make 65% crude winterized through three sets of filters (20 micron,12 micron and 2 micron) using vacuum buchner filtration. Winterization is only in a -20 freezer for 24 hours but seems to get a ton of waxes and fats out. It is CO2 extraction and subsequent distillation via Wiped Film. I am trying to figure out what the remaining 10% in the distillate is composed of and how difficult it is to quantify or identify what remains. Typically we are getting 85-90% from our 60-65% crude. winterized. Just looking for some opinions. Thanks.
3 Likes

Just curious, when you start with your 65% winterized crude, how much distilate do you end up with? If you start with 1000grams do you end up with at least 650 grams in return?

1 Like

Everything is in a gradient. Usually people split their crude up into 3 parts when distilling. Heads, main and tails. Heads would be the solvent, terps, and azulene. Main is the distillate u desire. The tails is the dark red almost black part that contains a whole mystery of stuff that remains in the boiling flask. Ask you go from heads to main body, you will have a gradient, at first it will be alot of unwanted and very little thc, then as it gets into main body it will have more thc and less unwanteds. So at some point u have to cut the fractions, to get your distillate separated from the rest. Due to not having a perfect split, you will have some of your desired cannabinoids left in the heads and tails. Otherwise youd have pretty much exactly the d9 thc content put in as you would get out.
So in short, expect 90% of your thc to be collected with 10% lost to the gradients everytime you run. If you took your sweet time and ran it incredibly slow and careful, u can probably get that to 95%

4 Likes