6 "Wiped Film or Multiple 12 L Short Paths

I keep hearing that Wiped Films are a waste of money and you are better off with multiple SPD units. Im on the fence about dropping 150+k$ on wiped film when I can buy several 12L or 20L SPD units. what are the pros and cons? Would love to hear as many opinions as possible. Im new to the game.

1 Like

hey @QGA where are you ats?
Both will work, the spd’s are going to be a pain to run and clean everytime. The wiped thin film is a great way to go for doing week long production runs of distillate, and will degrade your cannabinoids the least.
Have you priced out all the perepherals for the spd’s? All those pumps and cold traps may add up to more than the wfe.
That being said if something were to break and you had a gang of spd’s you’d still be running.
Ideally you would have a few of the wfe daisy chained together and some extra parts onthe shelf.

6 Likes

Really, what leads you to that conclusion? How many 12Ls do you think it would take you to match a 6" wiped film? Do you expect to be able to run them all effectively at once being new to the game? How much do you expect a 12L to cost when it actually has good parts, wide bore, etc?

One thing I do recommend is getting a steel wiped film if you go that route. You don’t want your operation to be dependent on one very expensive fragile piece of glass. The glass evaporators really should be thought of as just being practice for method development purposes, not your eventual workhorse.

3 Likes

Breaking dabs on ig is pulling 4-5L/H with only a 20L with summits new HB head…

2 Likes

Truth!

Think of this like the rabbit and the turtle race, yes you can stack up enough spd’s to get a simialar output. But the energy you put into setting up/tearing down/cleaning/ watching the thing run outweighs the effort of running a wfe.